On the First Day of CampNaNo…

Posted: July 1, 2017 in camp nanowrimo, Creative WRiting, pregnancy
Tags: , , , ,

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-Header

My true love gave to meeeee…

Just kidding, I won’t blast you all with my singing. That could be cruel. Still, it is the first day of Camp NaNoWriMo… and I find that I’m not completely sure what I’m doing. I’m due to have a baby in 6 days… and I’m a bit daunted by the fact that I signed up at all. Still, I haven’t missed a Camp yet, and I certainly don’t want to miss one now. I’ve really been missing writing… so I figured that Camp this year could be a free for all. I’m going to count all of my writing towards my meager 5,000 word goal, because it’s more about getting the flow going again, in opposition to getting a certain bit of work done.

That being said, the 5,000 word goal is still really high up there for me when I can’t figure out what I want to write. I had a thought of going back to my very, very old fanfiction.net profile and picking out the most popular fic that I have on there (whatever that might be) and rewriting it with minimal plot change. Just basically getting it out there and redone in my new writing style for a little bit of fun… but — and maybe it’s the hormones talking — I don’t want to go back and read my writing from when I was a teenager right now. Hell, I have trouble going back and reading my writing from five minutes ago without laying down a harsh judgment hammer on myself.

So… I’m contemplating what to do instead. I’m thinking I might get some more prompts out there – those always seem to inspire something when I start them (see: My inability to write a short story without it somehow spiraling into a novel). I also thought that I’d tackle some chapters of the fanfics that I have on my A03 account because I’ve been dreadful about ignoring them for months now.

I don’t know. I just know that things are pretty crazy right now, and there is certainly a lot going on in my mind…. but that doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop writing. I’ve been lax on it, and it’s honestly getting to me. I feel better when I’m writing every day, and I feel more clear and relaxed. I’ve let that slide, because I’ve been mainly sleeping and resting up… but I want to get ready, to get started. I want to get back into it, because I can feel it in my mind and damn near on my soul that I haven’t been creative lately. I’ve been… er… creating instead. You know.

A baby.

But… I’m pretty much finished with doing that, and I want to get back to my writing. Hell, I want to get back to my writing from my baby, so I can show him that we should always strive for our dreams and passion.

So, Camp NaNo, I’m still gonna getcha, baby or not. Here I come.

Until next time, guys! Let me know about your Camp NaNo plans!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Comments
  1. Don’t have a baby on the burner, or would the better analogy be, in the slow roaster…let’s try this again. I’m not pregnant, I’m on vacation which means my July 2017 Camp NaNo is off to a non-start, lol. I have been wildly distracted from my writing by LIFE but I wanted to get back on track as well, so…(why is this so hard? lol)

Leave a Reply

