146720962256480

Hey, everyone! It looks like it is nearly that time again, doesn’t it? Camp NaNoWriMo is quickly approaching us all, and I find myself in a little bit of a quandary. I’m not completely certain if I want to participate.

In April, my husband and I are going to be moving; that of itself provides a challenge when ti comes to finding time to be creative. I have to add to that the fact that I am pregnant, oddly hormonal, and easily tired. I’m afraid that I won’t be able to find the time or energy to really complete a big project for Camp.

However, I’ve made the decision to go ahead and push forward. I sat my project amount for 15,000 words. I think I can manage that. I’m not working on a new project – I’m working on rewrites for a novel that I want to get properly edited. I think that I can do it, even with everything going on.

Regardless of if I can, I want to try. And that’s what is so important here; I’m trying to take the advice that I gave out so often to all of you – I have time to do it. It may not feel like it, but somewhere along the way, I can manage 500 words a day. I know I can. I know my limits, and I know how long that takes me to crank out. So, I’m going to push forward, even though I’m afraid for the first time that I might fail… and now that I’ve made that decision, I’m all the happier for it.

I guess this blog is here to encourage all of you who are teetering on the edge of doing Camp NaNo or not. Go ahead, go for it! The worst that will happen is you won’t hit your goal, but you know what? You’ll end up getting more words than you started out with. The only way that you can really fail is if you never try at all. So, push forward, strive for your best… and know that in this scary writing process that is attempting to better yourself, you are never alone.

Until next time, you guys! Keep reading and writing, and keep being amazing!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. elegancesicy says:

    You’re completely right. I’ve been teetering! I actually changed the goal to pages instead of word count. I might be working a few different projects, words are too hard to calculate when I work primarily with pen and paper. Blah, blah, I can see myself going off on ANOTHER reflective tangent!

    I’ll be doing Camp this year. Good luck to you 😀

Leave a Reply

