Behind the Scenes: Writing Tag

Posted: January 12, 2017 in Creative WRiting, tag thursday
Tags: , , ,

Hey, everyone! It’s Tag Thursday, and I’m trying to get back into the habit of properly doing my blogging! So, I found a writing tag over on this blog! Make sure to check it out! Anyway, onward to actually answering the questions!


1. Is there a certain snack you like to eat while writing?

I like to have something that is easy to eat, like chips, or sunflower seeds, or something like that. Sometimes when I’m having a writing binge, I’ll have a ton of candy, or actually  get my dinner/lunch while I’m writing. I usually have a ton of coffee while I’m writing, but I’ve had to cut out on that since I got pregnant. *eyes wordcount* I wonder if that’s why my amount of words that I usually write has gone done? Hm, questions… questions indeed.

2. When do you normally write? Night, afternoon, or morning?

It depends, honestly. I have a huge variety of times that I like to write. I used to write a ton at night, but again… the whole being pregnant thing has changed up my schedule. Now, I tend to start writing around 8pm every night. I don’t know why, exactly. But it’s getting to be a habit – if I haven’t gotten my words out by then, I’ll tackle them, because I know that I don’t want to be waiting until I’m tired to do it.

3. Where do you write?

I either write at my desktop, or recently at my laptop in the living room. I have a little writing corner where I have my laptop/all in one/keyboard, etc all set up. It’s my second writing home, for when I’m not feeling like getting off of the couch.

4. How often do you write a new novel?

At least once a year, since I started doing NaNoWriMo. Now, if you were to ask me how often I start a new novel, that would be a completely different answer. I start new novels constantly, plot them, get excited about them. I’m actually hoping to complete 2 novels this year… but we’ll see how that is going to go. Everything is kind of up in the air right now, depending on how I handle this whole being a Mama thing.

5. Do you listen to music while you write?

I do! I actually listen to my Spotify a lot (Oh, look a link here!!) At least, I think it’s a link. I have different playlists for different moods, but I tend to listen to my Fallout writing playlist a ton while I’m writing.

That could be because I’m writing Fallout a ton of the time when I’m writing. Who knows xD

6. What do you write on? Laptop or paper?

I’ll plot occasionally in a notebook, but for the most part all of my writing and plotting (and everything in between) happens on my laptop or desktop. I used to handwrite (my first novel that I wrote was handwritten), but I have a lot of wrist issues, so I can write by hand for about 5 minutes before everything starts to hurt and go numb. It’s really put a damper on the whole “plotting by hand” thing that I had going on.

But, honestly, with Scrivener and how organized it is now, I really just love writing on the laptop/desktop anyway. If not there, I’m generally on googledocs, cause I can access that even when I’m on my phone, so if I’m out and I needed to take notes, there they are.

7. Is there a special ritual before/after you write?

Uh… I don’t really have a ritual. If I’m writing creativly, I do like to get my music on to block out all of the other sound. Other than that, I just write. I guess I could say that writing on mywriteclub has become a ritual for me, because it gives me those fancy little stars so I can keep track of how much I’ve written. As to a ritual after, I do get up and record how much I’ve written. I need to know, after all. But all and all, I don’t really have something that I have to do before or after – generally inspiration just takes me, and I follow whatever whim it leads me along.

8. What do you do to get in the mood to write?

Sometimes I have a dream. Sometimes I am in the middle of writing a story of a novel. Reviews to fanfics that I’m writing always get me in the mood to write, because it’s amazing to see that people are enjoying what I write.

But… in truth… a lot of the time when I write I’m not in the mood to write. I am of the firm belief that sometimes you have to start, even when you aren’t feeling it. I find that after I get those first 500 words out, the writing is flowing, whether I was in the mood or not. It’s all about getting yourself going, even if you don’t feel like it. At least, that’s how it is for me.

9. What is always near the place you write?

A drink? Generally. I have water, or gingerale right now. Other than that… pens, paper, my calendar to see how much I’ve written. My laptop, if I’m in the living room. I don’t know o-o

10. Do you have a reward system for your word count?

It’s kind of just rewarding for me to get my 1,000 words every day. I will reward myself afterward sometimes, like, “If you finish your words, you can go take a nap.” or “you can have a tiny drink of that soda”… but usually, I just do it. It’s such a habit now that I just do it.

11. Is there anything about your writing process that others might not know about?

Hmm… I don’t know. I mean, usually I’ll sit down and just get at it. If I don’t know what I’m going to write, I’ll just start with a random scene – I let whatever is in my mind at that very moment form the first words, and then I make it work from there. My writing process is a very strange thing, full of ups and downs.

I do have to say, if I don’t feel like I can be creative, one of the most helpful things that I’ve come across is to practice stream of thought. Basically, I open a document and just write whatever I’m thinking and feeling. It really helps to get the words flowing, and then I can usually get down to the creative writing fairly easily after that!


So, there we go! Tag Thursday! If you end up doing this, link back to me so I can know!!! I’d love to read your thoughts and answers!

Until next time, you guys! Keep reading and writing, and keep being amazing!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

 

Leave a Reply

