About Those Holiday Things

Posted: December 22, 2016 in Creative WRiting

Life and Writing

Okay <3! As you can tell from the title and from the fact that I’m still not managing to post daily things… it’s the holidays, and that means that things are crazy. I’m probably not going to get onto a completely regular blogging schedule until the new year, but I will try to have a few posts coming in between those, just to let you guys know what’s going on! I guess I’m just going to spend this blog talking about what to expect in the coming year, yeah?

I have… *checks calendar* like 9 more days? 10? Something like that (didn’t really check the calendar) until the year is up. I’ll have made it to my minimum goal of writing 1000 words a day. I’m really proud of that, but sadly I will have fallen short on my secondary stretch goal of writing 1 million words. Look, I’m going to get to like 900,000 ;-; I was really close. I was almost there… but the things that came up recently (those things that I keep talking about and not quite explaining) have had me somewhere else in my head. Honestly, though, I’m really proud of how far I’ve come, and I’m super proud of the fact that I’m going to finish the year out with that 1,000 words a day goal met. I know that I can get there easily, so I’m not worried about failing this close to the end of the year. The only thing that I wish was that I had more time to get in those last 100,000 words… but that’s sadly not possible.

This year.

I’m trying to decide what I’m going to do with my 1,000 words a day goal for next year. I know I’m going to keep it at at least 1,000, but I’m trying to decide if I want to crank it up a little. There were a few days where I struggled for those 1,000 words, but most of the time I managed to do it within a few minutes to a half an hour. I’m wondering if maybe what I want to do is set myself a 1,000 words/one hour a day towards writing goal. I think that could be doable. I’m wanting to get myself a proper writing schedule because I’ve really heard that writing at a certain time every day helps… so I’d like to see if that’s true. It’s something that I’ll be trying out, come the new year.

I’m going to do my hardest to finish rewriting/redrafting Cerulean Darkness before the first Camp NaNo so that I can spend the two Camps finishing my novel Limbo. Ideally, I’ll have two second drafts done and somewhat polished up enough that I can seek out beta readers and actually get going with them. They both have sequels (they’re both duologies) so… it’s something fun and exciting, and that’s the big thing that I want to get done in the next year.

Really, though, I’m just going to take it a day at a time. Making plans is good, and it really helps, but making sure that you do what you need to do in order to take care of yourself is just as important. It’s why I haven’t been around so much in the last bit – taking care of myself is 100% important, though I have missed blogging! I’m thinking of making some new headers for my blogs and getting my schedule a bit more hammered out. If you guys have any suggestions on what you’d like to see, just let me know! I’m always super excited to write things that interest and help all of you just as much as I am the things that I like to write.

Reflecting on this year, it’s been a good year. There have certainly been some ups that were fantastic, and some downs that were horrible… but I’ve grown as a person and as a writer. I have my health, I have my family, I have my friends… and really, isn’t that what matters?

How has the year gone for you guys? Do you have any new years resolutions or goals that you want to set for yourself? I’d love to hear!

So, until next time, you guys! Keep reading and writing, and keep being amazing!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

