horror-prompts

Hey, everyone. So, here is the response to Prompt #22, and I have to say that it was actually interesting to write. I usually change the perspective when I answer prompts that have the word you in them, but this time, I decided that I was going to experiement and see what happened.

I’m actually kind of pleased with it. I don’t think that I could write an entire book this way, but I do think that I could write a few short stories using this method. Anyway, I’ll let you get right to it! To the story!

Your Thundering Heart

It was the noise that woke you, and the noise that sent your heart to thundering. It jolted hard in your chest, a loud thud, thud, thud that was hard to breathe around. You’d had this problem since you were a child – noises that woke you, and a terror that left you slicked with sweat and cold. Your mother had told you it was all in your head, and your father made fun of you and told you to be braver.

There was never any real sympathy from either of them, because they always seemed to assume that you were just a child, feeling childish feelings. They thought you’d grow out of it – and they were certain that it wasn’t going to be something that followed you into adulthood.

They were wrong.

The noise was loud, and it had sounded like a growl. Your blood feels almost slugging in your veins now, chilled, full of terror that makes you run like ice. It’s a strange sensation – but you know if you close your eyes and concentrate, you can calm yourself.

You’ve had to calm yourself for so many years now that you’ve learned to get a hold on it. Your eyes are opened, you aren’t sleeping anymore. Your nightmares can’t touch you, so you can calm yourself down.

One deep breath, and you need to concentrate on the beating of your heart. It’s thick in your chest, and you know that it’s going to take some time to calm itself… but it always does. One more deep breath, and you focus in on the sound of your heartbeat. You have to concentrate on it, and you have to will it to slow – until your heart slows down, nothing is going to be calm. until you can calm yourself, nothing is going to feel better.

Once you feel better, you can get up – you’ll have a shower, you might get a drink. You’re certainly done sleeping for the night – there’s never any sleeping after one of these episodes, but that’s all right.

People at work are used to the dark bags under your eyes. Your mother and father don’t ask you how you’ve been sleeping anymore, and there’s a part of you that wonders if you’re a disappointment to them after all.

But that doesn’t matter – none of that matters but the beating of your heart, and that’s what you concentrate on.

Thud, thud, thud.

(thud, thud, thud.)

It’s strange – something is wrong. Something about the sound that you’re so used to concentrating on is off, and that’s not okay.

Thud, thud, thud.

(thud, thud, thud.)

You realize that the thundering of your heart has an echo that isn’t coming from you.

So, there we go! I think that the particular method of writing from that perspective was a good exercise in and of itself. I really enjoy doing things differently, because it gives me a chance to grow and expand my writing talents. I strive each and every day to improve myself – I’ll never be content with the level that I’m at, because I’m always reaching for that next step up. I’ll be happy with my talent, and I’ll know that I should try to do something with it, but the moment that you stop wanting to improve is the moment that you give up on ever getting better. 

Anyway, I’d love to see what you guys did with this prompt. With NaNo getting so close, I know that we’re all scrambling to get prepared. I may actually gear my next writing prompt towards previous stories that you guys have written, or what you’re doing to prepare for NaNo! I’ll see if I can come up with something! 

Until next time guys!!! Keep reading and writing, and keep being absolutely awesome!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

My Discord Group (click to join) is starting to rev up for NaNoWriMo! If you want some help with plotting and a group to stay steady with after, feel free to click and join!

 

Leave a Reply

