Taking Some Time For You

Posted: September 14, 2016 in Creative WRiting
Tags: , , , ,

147138902198677

I had to think for a minute about what picture I wanted to use to head this blog up, because I wasn’t completely certain of what it was going to be about… but I think it’s a tip. Or a trick.

Or a way of life.

Who knows.

All that I know is that I’ve been taking a brief break from blogging every day, and I thought about feeling guilty for it… but then I realized that it wouldn’t be fair to myself. I’ve had about two weeks where I haven’t been posting every day like usual. I think that I’ve done a blog for about half of those days?

The fact is – things got extremely busy with me. As I mentioned earlier, we had some new roomies move in. Which means we also had an old roomie moving out. It was crazy, and hectic… and turned out fantastically, because we vibe so perfectly well with our new roomies that it’s wonderful.

They’re actually some of my writing buddies, so it’s pretty fantastic, as far as that’s concerned. We’ve been cleaning, and getting the house into just an almost domestic bliss order. So, it’s been a period of adjustment.

Aside from that, there’s a ton of other stuff going on, and it’s just prevented me from having a completely on-track mind when it comes to being able to write a ton. I haven’t re-done my calendar since I moved into my new writing space (Oh, pics to come in a following blog!), and I need to do that as well. The point of this blog is though… that sometimes, it’s okay to step away from all of the things that you schedule for yourself.

I didn’t do it to stop – and I have full intentions of picking it back up properly. Come October, I’m doing daily horror writing prompts again (if you’d like to submit one and get featured, just comment it or email me at amandaleannemccormick@gmail.com, by the way <3). But for these past two weeks, I’ve let myself slide a little. Sometimes, you have to give yourself some leeway. Sometimes, you have to realize that you make goals with a minimum requirement and a stretch goal for a reason. I’ve hit my 1k every day – I haven’t gone lax on that… but there is nothing wrong with allowing yourself a little time to handle personal things, if you need.

And that’s my advice that I’m giving today – you’re okay with giving yourself a little bit of slide room. That’s why you do a small goal and a bigger goal that you know you can strive towards… so that you can have some days of just hitting that small goal.

That’s pretty okay to do ❤

Until next time guys!!! Keep reading and writing, and keep being absolutely awesome!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Leave a Reply

