Weekly Writing Prompt Response: 9/4-9/10 (2016)

Posted: September 10, 2016 in Creative WRiting, weekly writing prompts
Tags: , , , , ,

Writing Prompt ResponseHa. I pick this gorgeous picture of a Lighthouse that is super inspirational for this weeks writing prompt… and I’m really expecting it to jilt me straight into writing.

Instead, I have a super busy week and don’t post very much at all… let alone work on this writing prompt.

>_> So. I’m taking a leaf out of my own advice book, because I won’t not do a writing prompt response.

Welcome to a Saturday Session of Amanda Can’t Write Poetry!


A ghost lives in that lighthouse

And it is her haunting gaze that lures in the sailors

Not her song

But her broken eyes

And the pain that shines out through their iridescence

She calls to them with her pain

And brings them to the edge of the structure

Their boats crashing

Their hands scrambling for shore

Only to find the lighthouse door locked

From the outside.


Heavy inspiration for this came from the song Lighthouse by The Hush Sound.

If you’ve responded to the writing prompt, make sure to link back to me! I love posting your responses to go along with my own!

Other Responses:

Kayla Dore | Steps Times Two | ProwlingThunder

Comments
  1. I certainly share your views on being able to write poetry. It’s come up as a prompt in my challenge three times now and it’s always taken so long to do.
    An enjoyable piece though. Thank you.

  2. […] Responses Kayla’s | Steps Times Two’s | Amanda’s […]

Leave a Reply

