The Birthstone Tag – Tag Thursday!

Posted: August 31, 2016 in Creative WRiting

Tag Thursday

Hello everyone! It’s time for another Tag Thursday, and I’ve been tagged by the lovely WriterCentralBlogs for a lovely book tag! You know what I’m going to do though – I’m going to turn this inward and turn it into another writing tag. I have to say that I love getting tagged by you guys, because it gives me a chance to read about you and to learn more about all of you!

Let me include some information and the description of the tag below:

 

I’m not necessarily certain who made up this tag, but you might be able to find that information somewhere on booktube.

This tag is called the Birthstone tag, and basically I have to name a book or character that fits into each of the twelve categories.  The categories, in turn, correlate with birthstones, which of course are correlated with the months of the year. — So, for me, I’m going to name books or characters from my own, personal writing in order to answer these questions! Onward and upward then, let’s get on with the tag!



January (GARNET):
Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

 

All right. So, since I’m going to try to turn this reading tag into yet another writing tag… let’s go with my characters again! I would have to say out of everyone that I’ve written the most evil character that I’ve created has no actual name. He is The Darkness – he is the first shadow that covered the Earth, before God came along and ruined it all with light and birds and man. He is the twin dark flame to God’s light… and he didn’t really appreciate it when his brother came along and started putting things on his nice, shadowy planet. I have a 7 book series about angels and demons, and he’s actually one of the big players within it, though you don’t realize it until the very end.

I have a short story that I wrote for him a long time ago for college, if anyone is interested in reading about him. He is who corrupted Lucifer. He is the Darkness, and he’s badder than Satan himself.


February (AMETHYST):
Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

Out of all of my books, I would have to say that RipTide has the most regal/royal properties. We’re actually dealing with a Prince of one of the domains of the ocean (Yeah, yeah, he’s a mermaid.) And the woman that he falls in love with and wants to marry. There’s actually going to be a lot more political involvement than I meant to have in the series… so, I would say out of everything, it’s certainly that one that takes the cake.

Uh, fish flake?


March (AQUAMARINE):
Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

 

Hmm…. this is actually pretty hard to figure out in my own writing… but… I would have to say that Sadie could fit the bill. She’s a character in my Fallout Fanfics – I made her up as an original one. She’s sister to my character Jack (I’m sure you’ve all heard about him if you’ve read my blog at all.) The thing is, for everything that her strong, charming, brave, fierce, deadly brother is… she just isn’t. She’s afraid of her own shadow, and she really hadn’t come into herself yet.

If she has the option to run away from the people that she’s following, she will. If keeping herself safe means hiding in the corner and listening to people screaming… she’s hate it, but she’ll do it. Right now, she’s so frightened of the world because of her early life experiences that she’s not had the chance to be strong, and she sure as hell isn’t going to trust anyone enough to follow them.


April (DIAMOND):
A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

 

Uhm… okay, for this it’s kind of weird, since I’m talking about my own writing. But my first ever book was called Magic Island – I hand wrote it in the 6th grade. It’s in two composition notebooks that I have hidden away from the world… and there aren’t very many people out there who have read it, who’ve heard of it, who know anything about it.

I probably will intend to keep it that way. Because, you know, I was in sixth grade.


May (EMERALD):
Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well.

 

Hmmm… I’ll need to think about this, because I tend to write my characters to balance and compliment one another fairly well, no matter where I go. It makes for a better reading experience. If I had to pick anyone, though, I’d say Nevaeh and Kerwyn from my novel Cerulean Darkness. She’s basically an Empress of Light and Good and everything that is love and happiness and (I’m not calling her a hippy, but xD). And he’s this man who was scorned and cast out, and turned to the darkness to get the power that he was never given.

(Dances around actual plot stuff for the sake of not spoiling everything for those who might want to read this.)

The thing is though, when they come together, they make something great. He’s fire and she’s soothing ice… but somehow, when they’re next to each other, the light the whole world up.


June (PEARL):
Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Oh, same book. Same damn book. Atreyu from Cerulean Darkness. He might have had a moment or two while Nevaeh was gone where his loyalty got depressed and went and sat in a corner, but when it comes down to it, and when he’s with her, his blood sings for only her – he is her guardian, her protector, and he’d lay down his life a thousand times if it meant keeping the blonde hairs on her head from getting damaged. He’s very, very loyal.


July (RUBY):
Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

 

Hmmmmmmmmmmm. OH! I have an answer for this.

So, I decided to write a novel called Limbo for my NaNoWriMo year before last. I get about 35,000-40,000 words into it…

And I realize that I hate it.

I hate everything about it. I hate how it’s reading, I hate how my characters are sounding, I hate how there’s too many people involved and it seems like I’m just jumping point of view so rapidly and so chaotically that I don’t even want to read my own novel anymore.

35,000 words into my NaNo Novel… and I realize that something had to be done.

35,000 words into my NaNo Novel, and with a fury unlike anything that I’ve ever felt before, I started to rewrite it.

I changed it from third to first person POV, and I turned into a monster when it came to getting those words out. I rewrote, and I rewrote, and I rewrote… and I won NaNo with the first person POV version of it. The thing is, I never finished the book, and I got so irritated at having to rewrite (and I am so much more pleased with how it reads, and I know I made the right decision) that I had to step away from it.

I really do intend to finish it, and soon… because I love zombie novels, and I love romance novels, and it needs to be finished. But yeah. I’d say that was pretty furious.


August (PERIDOT):
Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

Well, that’s not fair. I write my main characters to love them. xD If I had to go with anyone for this particular instance though, I’d say that… well, in my RipTide novel (yeah, the mermaids), there is this character.

He might be a mantis shrimp, okay?

He might be a rainbow mantis shrimp, and most damn beautiful mermaid under the sea.

He might be my favorite character out of the series, even though he’s only in the novel for a few chapters.

He might get his own spin off book because I loved him so much.

Yeah.

So there’s that.

 


September (SAPPHIRE):
Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming affect on you.

 

I think that one of the most calming novels for me to write was actually RipTide. My mother passed away on the second day of NaNoWriMo last year, and it was really hard for me. I kind of threw myself into my writing – I threw myself into the story, and just the sensation of getting lost to putting words on paper.

And it was a really calming, cathartic experience. It was something that really helped me through the emotions that probably would have completely engulfed me otherwise. So, I’m really grateful that I had my writing (and my writing group. And my amazing husband <3) to help me get through those times. It just goes to show me though that writing is truly my passion, and it’s my escape from so many things. It’s what makes my  heart happy.


October (OPAL):
Iridescent – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it off of a character (Quirky? Colourful?).

 

Guys… I really hate to keep using RipTide, but I actually won a contest and got a professional cover made for it for freesies. So. Uhm.

riptide.png

Ta daaaaa! Conversely, the other cover that I would have picked was my cover for Limbo, which I made for myself out of free, stock images.

limbo.png


November (TOPAZ):
Associated with resilience – Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Hmm… I have a novel called Red, which is a retelling of the story Little Red Riding Hood. I honestly can’t go into it much, because it would completely and utterly spoil the plot of it, but in the end, she rises above a situation that honestly should have taken her completely out of the running – and she does it with grace, with intelligence, and with some kick-ass epicness that makes my little Lynn one of my favorite characters.


December (BLUE ZIRCON):
Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

 

Hmm… I’m currently writing a novel called Insert Epic Title Here – which is basically a ton of D&D references and tropes and satire in general. And I damn well wouldn’t mind to have some of the friends that my characters have in there; an epic fighting party, a necromancer named Frank.

An arm giant.

You know, those kind of friends. ❤


 

Wow! So, that was a pretty long tag – it got me most of my words that I need for the day! I’m not going to tag anyone specific, because I love seeing it when all of you do these tags! So, please! Get to it! If you can’t do it in relation to your own writing, go ahead and turn it back into a book tag and relate it to book characters. Honestly though, I love seeing it when you guys turn inward and answer these kinds of questions about your own characters.

Regardless, I can’t wait to see what you come up with. If you do end up doing the tag, make sure to link back to me so that I’ll know and I can give it a looksie. Also, make sure to check out the blog of the person who originally tagged me ❤ it’s always fun when we do what we can to help one another out and get each other views!

So, until next time guys!!! Keep reading and writing, and keep being absolutely awesome!
Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost | My Writing Group
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

 

Comments
  1. Mariya Carver says:

    Yay! Thanks for doing this :))

Leave a Reply

