Book Review

I just realized that I have a graphic for Book Review, but not for just a reading update – I’ll have to remedy that at a later date, but for now… this will have to work. I can’t do an actual book review, because I haven’t read a book this week. I have made progress on more than one, however – I’m being naughty and trying to figure out exactly what I want to read… so, instead of a book review, let me give you a tiny preview of my TBR top picks (if I did my actual TBR, we’d be here all night.)

Ahem.

So, first of all, I am reading A Game of Thrones.

200px-agameofthrones Yeah, I wanted to go ahead and reread this book, because I want to read the entire series. I read this novel a while ago, but I have this thing about starting a series over if I haven’t been on it for a few months. So, I’m a few chapters into this book… and I have to say that I’m enjoying it just as much the second time as I did the first – if anything, having watched the show, I’m enjoying it more. It’s easier to keep up with all of the characters and locations, now that they’ve been given a name and a face in the television series. Maybe it’s not the best way for me to get to know the characters as far as making sure that I keep cannon, but it’s actually been pretty helpful in helping me to follow along with the book. I am, of course, enjoying the writing style that George R. R. Martin has – I’ve always thought that he was extremely clever in his style; though the book is enormous, I don’t feel like he’s wasting a bunch of words, which is fantastic to me.

Secondly, I am reading Frostbite, the second novel in the Vampire Academy series. I read the first one recently, so I’ve been wanting to get into this – I am about 40 pages into it. I just haven’t had that much time to read lately, so I got a little side tracked with everything else. A Game of Thrones, I just read a few chapters here and there, by the way – but everything else, I generally try to focus down on one thing at a time. I will probably finish this before I finish anything else on my list, just in case you’re curious.

 Third on my rather large TBR of my TBR list is House of Leaves, by Mark Z. Danielewski. Now, I hadn’t actually intended on reading this book – I didn’t even know anything about it until my friend brought it over and told me it was basically creepypasta, novelized. I am a huge horror fan, and I had to have a look at it – I settled down and read about 30 pages of it to see if it was something that I was interested in… and I have to say that I’m really enjoying it. I won’t go too into detail, because I feel like I will have a long blog about this book, once I’m finished with it – so, we will hold off until then.

And last on my enormous list of things that I should have finished reading some time ago is World War Z by Max Brooks. I actually started this book nearly a year ago, got half way through… and now I’ve decided to pick it back up. I couldn’t just start back in the middle where I was, so I’m having to start over. I should be finished with it fairly soon, however. So, look for a review of this as well!

So, yeah. That’s my TBR of my TBR pile (Maybe someday I will do my entire TBR for you guys). Those are the four books that you should be hearing about in my Friday Book Reviews/Reading updates for the next little bit. If you have any suggestions of other things that I should read, I would of course love to hear about it. I’m always open for new books… and I’m always looking for an excuse to get another book from the store.

I’m a book addict. I have more bookshelves than I have room for, and I still need more. Someday, when I start doing vlogging, I’ll do a tour for you so that you guys can properly see. Until then, I can just firmly say that I need more shelf space.

I always need more shelf space.

I kind of turned my pantry into another bookshelf, and I don’t regret it for even a moment.

So, until my next blog, guys! Expect the next one to be more of a discussion of my thoughts and feelings, as far as the aforementioned books are concerned. I actually want to have proper book discussions every Friday – even if I don’t finish the novel, I think that it could be a fun experience to document how I feel about it every week as I continue to read through them… so, keep an eye out for that, because it’s what is going to be upcoming on Friday!

 

Until then, I hope that you guys enjoyed the blog, and I will be back for another soon!

 

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr | Blog Masterpost
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. I have House of Leaves on my shelf but haven’t got to it. I have soooo many books to read. That’s what I’m fixing to blog about, 😛 I have read the first two of Game of Thrones. I have to agree – having seen the show seriously helps keep up with all the characters. I cannot wait for the episode tonight.

    • My friend let me borrow it, so it’s really cool. I’m going to have to get my own copy, I think. I actually have intentions of doing a blog about just that, including a video tour of my bookshelves xD

  2. A great collection of TBR and House of Leaves is on my list too. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

