affirmations

Getting a late start today, because today is Dungeons and Dragons day. Yes, I’m that kind of nerd. No, I’m totally not ashamed. D&D is just another way to tell a story, and I love telling stories in all forms and fashions. It’s kind of what makes my blood pump and my sanity stay intact. Anyway, I needed to put a little thought into today’s affirmation, because I’m actually feeling pretty decent about myself today. But then I realized – I was up for 3 hours last night telling myself a story. That’s a perfect thing to think about for Creativity Affirmation #6:

No story that I tell myself is a waste of time. All of my ideas are worth writing down, worth pursuing, worth telling.

I know, at least for myself, I constantly have thoughts and ideas. I constantly tell myself a story. Last night, I woke up from a dream that I’d just started, but my mind was completely alive with the thought. There was a part of me that said, “No, just try to go back to sleep, Amanda. It’s not important.” And I had to think… that wasn’t the case. I sat awake for 3 hours, and I told myself the story of how the dream would have finished, exactly what would have happened. I ended up with an epic war between angels and demons, and the elemental magic users caught in between… and I have to say that I’m pretty pleased with it. It’s probably going to turn into a short story, or something more akin to a novel (I can never just write a short story, I’ve noticed.)

But yes, never think that any idea is too small. Never discount your own creativity. We are our own worst critics, and we are our own worst naysayers. Don’t think that your thoughts aren’t worth writing down, worth thinking about, worth bringing out and making into a story.

They are. You are a creative being. Everything you do and say is worth the time it takes to write it down and think it out. You’re a writer. So write. ❤

Until next time, keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Comments
  1. […] thing that I can think to talk about is that I had a dream last night. I mentioned it in my latest Creativity Affirmation blog. I told myself a story for nearly 3 hours after I woke up, and I’m going to be writing […]

Leave a Reply

