Camp NaNoWriMo – Day 9

Posted: April 9, 2016 in Creative WRiting
Tags: , , , , ,

145955303832385

So, today has been super productive! Before I’m done for the night, my wordcount for my NaNo project should crawl over 20,000 words. My personal writing for the day is already over 5,000 words (I don’t include other stories/projects/etc on my NaNo count), and I’m still super inspired to write.

Today’s tip is gonna be simple. For me, it involved sushi. I was in the middle of a crawl and still getting writing done, and I was offered the chance to have some sushi – to go out to a nice dinner and stuff my face like the voracious writer I am. Usually, if I’m in the middle of a writing stint, I decline. I want to get my words done, I don’t wanna break my flow, etc.

I’d already hit over 5k for the day. I knew that I’d write more when I get back. I decided that it was time to reward myself. This is one of the most important tips that I can give you – have some kind of reward set up for yourself, especially for when you have great days. Whether it’s going out to dinner, having some ice cream, or just allowing yourself some down time… if the opportunity presents itself, don’t pass it up. I know that I’ve talked about this before, but it’s so important. It’s the sporadic rewards that are the best, especially if they allow you to spend time with your loved ones. I got to go out on a very, very nice date with my husband, instead of keeping my nose buried in my laptop for the rest of the night.

So, if the opportunity to really, mentally reward yourself (especially if it comes with unagi <3) don’t deny yourself! Snatch that reward. You’re amazing ❤ You deserve it.

 

Until next time!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page | Tumblr

Comments
  1. Rachel says:

    I buy myself a new video games whenever I win NaNo, lol. It works. Keep going!

  2. wfedan says:

    I love your idea to blog for Camp Nano! Go, girl!

  3. Jessica M says:

    I’ve never given myself a reward for writing, now that I think about it. But I’m so glad you’re chugging along so well! My motivation comes from a sense of achievement and knowing that I’ve come that much farther in my story, rather than just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

