Okay, so I didn’t finish when I wanted to before, but I have exactly 6,896 words left, so I think that I can manage it today.

Facebook_cover

How are you all doing for NaNo? I’ve really found it to be a completely different experience this year. With my mother passing away, there is a completely different drive for me this year… it’s almost like I’m rushing to the end of the novel, because I want to send her off with it. I know it sounds odd, but it’s how I feel. Writing this is really helping me to get through what would have probably otherwise been an impossible situation to deal with. I was so afraid when it happened, that I wasn’t going to be able to get any writing done.

I’m glad to find that it’s the opposite.

Today’s actual count is 20,004. You guys are at the point where you need to break that 20k goal, and let me tell you… it’s always a fun doozey to break! I know that week one has trickled away, and we’re nearing the end of week two. I know that the shiny new novel power is starting to wear off. I know, for some of you, you haven’t even started, or you’re behind. Guess what though, guys? You can still do this. If you started right now, you still only have to write 2,600 words and some change today. I know that seems like a lot, but it really isn’t. If you get ahead, it will make that number go down. If you’re behind, you can always catch up. You can do this.

The novel inside of you is something that no one else can give this world. Even if it’s the same story that’s been told, no one can tell it like you. No one can give it the emotion and experience that you can. You have an entire world living inside of you,  begging to be let out. You owe it to that world and this one, and most importantly, you owe it to yourself to do it.

Writing a novel is truly a labor of love. You’re putting your heart and soul into this piece, and sometimes… sometimes it gets a little exhausting, but just think about the end result. Thing about how you are going to feel when you cross the end of the month, 50k words richer, and able to say I did it. You can do that. I know you can. And if you ever think that you can’t, pop by here, and I’ll remind you.

You are an amazing human being. Not everyone can sit down and bring a world to life. Not everyone can really call themselves a writer and mean it. You have the fate of a world that has never been brought into existence in your hands, and you’re sculpting it. That’s impressive.

So, if you feel like giving up… remember, don’t. You’ve got this. You are amazing. You are a writer. You are going to win!

Until next time, keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page

Comments
  1. I’m at 15,224 and I’m not worried. The first time I won I wrote 5,000 words on the last day. The second time (last year) I wrote 25K words in the last week. I don’t do very well with daily goals of anything, so I’m just trying to accept that and respect the process.

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your mother. I’m glad writing has been therapeutic for you!

  2. siderealday says:

    You are amazing. Thanks so much for the pep talk, and I wish you all the luck in finishing those last ~6k words.

Leave a Reply

