So, this particular Countdown Tip is something that I have recently decided to try out myself. Much like saving pictures to your desktop for inspiration, the website Pinterest allows you to do just that. Now, I’m not saying that you should spend your entire NaNo time glued to your phone or web browser by any means… but especially in these few days that we have left until NaNo begins, it’s a great way to get yourself hyped and get some visual ideas in your head.

Pin

Above is a picture of My Pinterest, which I just started today ^_^

If you don’t like Pinterest, there are other options. Some people like to create a Tumblr specific to their novel to reblog photos, quotes, etc. Some people go the old fashioned route and actually make a pin board in their room. The point isn’t necessarily how you do it, but the fact that you’re doing it. When you find yourself stuck at 1,000 words, looking at your inspiration board (through whatever venue you chose) could give you that extra push that you need to keep on going.

How I do this is a little funny. I mostly pin faces. I pick what my main characters are going to look like, and then I search the internet far and wide for people with those appearances. I like to have expressions for sad, angry, elated, miserable… because I can look at that and get a bit of an actual feel for how my character is feeling in a particular scene if I’m having trouble. Of course, doing fantasy novels, I also love to pin pictures of potential locations, magical-awesomeness, etc. But that little burst of inspiration does help!

So, I know that Pinterest isn’t for everyone, but think about having some kind of inspiration section for your novel, so when you’re having tough times in that third week of NaNo, you have something to help push you along! NaNo Prep is there to get you through the tough times!

That’s all I have for now. I’ll be doing little posts like this until NaNo begins. I can’t wait. Only 4 more days! Are you ready?

Until next time, keep reading and writing,

Author Amanda McCormick
Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page

Comments
  1. Nikki B. says:

    Hi Amanda! I’ve been using Pinterest for a while now, although for more than just my boards on my novels-in-progress. You’ll love it. Take a look at mine if you like. I’ve followed you, and you can find my current NaNoWriMo novel pin board here: https://www.pinterest.com/nixdesk/project-~-homecoming/

    Have fun pinning, and good luck with NaNo!

Leave a Reply

