Welcome to the new little segment of my blog that I call ‘My Writing Accountability’. In lieu of NaNoWriMo, which is fast approaching, I thought that I would start doing this. I think that one of the most important things about writing is to make sure that you’re accountable for when you do write and when you don’t. So! Before I go to bed every night (whether it’s before midnight or 6am) I’m going to post a blog to hold myself accountable for how much I’ve written and what I’ve worked on. At the end of the month, I will do a total words written thing so I can see how I’m doing. I might expand on this as I get into the swing of it, who knows! I think this is going to be good for me. I’d love to know if you all are doing it as well! I’ll check in on you!

So, without further delays!

daily writing

So, today I worked on writing prompts.

My Total Words Written Today: 2,010

My personal Word Goal: 2,000

Daily Writing Prompt Completed: Yes!

I achieved my goal and did 3 new installments on The Graveyard, which is turning into a promising little short story!

My post is just going to be a little short post like this, so that you guys can see if I’m making progress! I can’t wait to hear how you guys did!

Until next time, keep reading and writing!
Author Amanda McCormick
Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page

Comments
  1. Awesome! I like your way of thinking!

  2. Kristi says:

    This is exactly what I use my blog for! I started it a year and a half ago as a way to try to keep myself motivated and accountable to doing some sort of writing work every day. Of course it eventually turned into a place to talk about NaNo and share other writing advice, but I still post every day that I write, plot, revise, or do any other writing-type work. I don’t normally post if I did nothing for the day, because I figured most of those times it’ll just be me giving some excuses about why I didn’t do anything that day (unless I had a legitimate reason like being sick or out of town). I do wonder, though, if knowing that I have to answer to my blog no matter what I’ve done or haven’t, it’ll make me less likely to skip for no real reason.

    Good luck on your new endeavor!

    • I think that’s part of the appeal to it. I have to be held accountable, even if I don’t post at all. Because of that, if I make enough excuses over and over again, I’m going to start getting pretty embarrassed about it xD

  3. Hey – I like your idea. I shall steal it! (Though you said we good, so I guess technically that isn’t stealing…)

  4. […] helps if you are in a group (previous tip) because you can keep yourself accountable with them.  Amanda has started posting a daily goal and what she did at the end of the night on her blog. Seeing as […]

Leave a Reply

