So, this was actually a pretty fun little thing to write. I love doing exercises that forces me into perspectives that I would normally not write in. I think that it’s a really good thing for a writer to do writing prompts that they aren’t comfortable with–doing that brings you into a world that you aren’t familiar with… and it allows you to gain experience writing in a way that you wouldn’t normally write. I can’t wait to see what you all came up with!

Monsters Have Feelings 

I was getting so tired of the incessant crying of the woman on the other side of the room. I think that she thought if she stayed beneath her blankets, watching me with owl like eyes filled to the brim and spilling over with tears that I wouldn’t do anything to her. The truth of it was that she was lucky that I wasn’t here for her, or I would have ripped her flesh from her skin like tissue paper after the first few minutes of her muffled sobs. I could feel a tic beginning to form at the corner of my wide mouth—I would have ground my teeth, but they’re far too sharp to do such a silly thing.

Even a monster can get quite irked from time to time.

Of course, I’ve always found ‘monster’ to be a bit of a vulgar term. Just because little mortals don’t understand my presence means that I’m considered the outsider. They’ve never thought of the fact that perhaps, in their beginning when “God” created the Heavens and the Earth… when they decided to crawl out of whatever ooze they came from that we were already here. We are the spirits, and the beings who have occupied the shadows that this world used to be for far longer than the term man was ever accepted as something living and breathing. I am the spirit that has lived in this land for far longer than these stupid humans…

And right at this moment, I am the spirit who is so tired of that whining little mortals crying that I’m nearly ready to break my normal method and exert all of my gathered energy to break her neck.

But no, I won’t do that. Not yet. I’ve been following the young woman who I am watching—the one who is now cowering under her blankets from the sound of her friend wailing. Though it doesn’t seem it now, I can see that this woman will someday make something great of herself. She will be confident and proud, and she will lead the world into a better and brighter future.

I can’t have that happening.

The thought of this world being happier, of nightmares becoming something that aren’t feared… those delicious nightmares that fuel my power? Oh, no. I won’t have that happening at all!

And all that it takes is me staying over this girl at night, making sure that each and every night she is plagued with pain, with nightmares, with terror and sorrow… until she is so frazzled and unhappy that I have the ability to control her. I can do that – I have done it before. I will do it again.

But I won’t be able to do ANYTHING if this girl doesn’t stop crying – everything will be ruined, because I will have lost my cool and exerted all of my strength just to stop her whining.

After all, even though we’re called monsters… we have feelings, too.

Well, not really, but you get what I mean.

There we go. There’s my prompt. Link me with what you did, or message me! I can’t wait to see! Until Next time!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page 

Leave a Reply

