So, the prompt for today is coming early! I decided that I wanted to try to sleep… which I may or may not be able to do. So, instead of midnight, say hello to a 8pm writing prompt post. Wow. I will be spending the next hour working on my NaNoWriMo outlines! I can’t wait to see how you guys have responded to this prompt!

Grave Regret

My mother never thought a thing of it when I had an imaginary friend. It was normal – a childhood thing that I would grow out of. When I was thirteen years old and this imaginary friend was still speaking to me, she had a bit of concern. When I told her what my imaginary friend said to me, she was downright furious.

My imaginary friend told me that she was my sister. My mommy told me that I didn’t have a sister… but my sister told me that my mother had killed her.

I think that my problem was quite evident.

My mother told me that if I ever brought up my nonexistent sister again, she would slap me. She had never threatened me before, and I could feel my eyes watering as the words impacted me. I nodded and went to my room without another word… and of course, Lily was there, waiting for me.

“I told you that telling her wouldn’t do any good. I’m sorry Cait. I wish that we could have really met.” Her voice was so sad, and my chest ached to hear her speak that way. There wasn’t a moment in my life that I could remember her not being there. From that time that I was a baby… she’d been my constant companion. I’d never questioned it.

“What am I supposed to do, Lil? She doesn’t believe me… and you said that she… that she…” My eyes flicked down.

“She did.” Her voice was grave.

I was torn. One part of me wanted to ignore what I was being told. Perhaps if my mother hadn’t had such a volatile reaction, I would have been able to. Instead, I had Lily looking at me with sincerity… “What do I do…?”

What do I do… that question seemed to always get me into trouble. Tonight, it had me outside with a shovel. Lily had told me where my mother had buried her… and she said that the only thing that I could do was to unearth her grave. I would be able to confront my mother with evidence, and I could finally get answers. That was all I wanted. It was what I needed… and I was already three feet deep and sweating.

I didn’t know how far I would have to dig, but my muscles were beginning to feel exhausted when I heard the voice behind me. “Caitlyn! No! You don’t know what you’re doing.” I’d expected it to be Lily, but it was my mother instead. She was running towards me as fast as she could, dodging the fallen trees and snagging plants that were on the path that I’d followed in the forest.

“Cait, don’t stop. You’re almost there.” Lily’s voice was urgent, and there was fear on her face. The memory of my mother’s threat in tandem with my sister’s fear was enough to make me regain strength. I furiously began to shovel, and I could hear my mother running closer.

“Cait, stop! Please! You don’t know what you’re doing. You can’t dig her up. You can’t! She-” Clunk.

“Too late, Rose. You’re too late!” I could hear Lily beside me, and there was laughter in her voice. I looked down – my shovel had hit a thin wooden box… and from that box, blackness was creeping.

“Cait… oh, God. Baby, run…” I couldn’t though, even though my mother sounded so frightened. I could only stare at Lily – my sister. My twin. Her eyes were growing dark and her teeth were sharpening.

“You promised me life when I gave you her. You promised me! You had sixteen years with her! She’s mine! Her soul is mine!”

“Mom…” I turned my head to look at my mother’s pale, frightened face. The fear there told me what was going to happen as I felt those shadows enveloping me… my world went black.

So, thank you so much! I hope to see your responses soon! Until next time, keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Twitter | Patreon | NaNo Page

Leave a Reply

