So, this particular prompt really sparked my imagination… to the point that this little snippet might turn into a full blown short story or even a novel. Maybe this will be my NaNoWriMo idea, who knows! I hope you guys enjoy, and I can’t wait to see what you came up with!

These Things

These are the things I no longer wish to understand: my real father is not of this world, and I am part of a scheme for the actual Armageddon. My mother waited until she was on her death bed to tell me this… and she waited until she was on her death bed to tell me why she was dying.

When one makes a pact with a demon to have a child, there are prices and consequences. Her life was forfeit on the day of my eighteenth birthday – her life to give me mine. Her life to fuel the powers that are now coursing through my body. It was the strangest thing. I saw the light fade out of her eyes in a very literal fashion, and as it did so it pooled from her body and spilled into mine. It felt for a moment as though my veins were on fire, and my heart was going to thunder out of my chest. The pain felt like a living, breathing thing trying to crawl its way out of my chest. It erupted from my lips in an unearthly scream – my body fell forward and all of that pain spilled out of my palms in a white hot streak of agony.

The bed caught fire.

The flames were not of this world. They burned black, and hotter than anything I’d ever felt before. My palms felt like the flesh was melting away, but they didn’t burn. I stumbled back, watching those flames envelop my mother’s body. In a burst of acrid air, she caught fire and burned away within seconds. I stumbled forward, crying out… but by the time my hands reached out to touch her, she was gone. In her place was a black glassine stone. It was hot to the touch when I picked it up… but I couldn’t just leave it there. It was all that I had left of her.

These are the things I no longer wish to understand. The dark and burning power inside of me is meant to set the world ablaze, and if the demon who is my father ever finds me, he will do everything within his power to make sure that I serve my purpose. I am on the run from the very shadows themselves…

These are the things I no longer wish to understand.

I hope you enjoyed, and until next time, keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Comments
  1. OK wow. Totally awesome. This Would Be Such an awesome novel to read. Happy Writing.

  2. […] am having so much fun with these horror prompts. This is actually a continuation of my prior prompt These Things. I really might end up turning this into a full blown novel. The more I write, the more I feel a […]

Leave a Reply

