Review: Black Moon

Posted: August 3, 2015 in Book Review
Tags:

Black Moon
Black Moon by Kenneth Calhoun

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

“Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows. Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world. Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her.

He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness. Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend. All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can’t buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had.”

As someone who suffers from insomnia, when I had a chance to read this book in exchange for a free copy from Blogging For Books, I couldn’t help myself. I first really want to comment on the design of the paperback of this novel – it was honestly beautiful. From the cover, to the fold out information tabs… everything about it was lovely to look at!

As for the story involved, I found it to be a very interesting read. It’s definitely not exactly what I expected just from the description above, but I do find it to be a wonderful depiction of a very mad world. I think that the pacing of this book was just right to keep me turning the pages and wanting to read more. The writing content was done very smoothly, and well enough that I found myself immersed within the pages! I honestly want to check out more work from Kenneth Calhoun now that I’ve met up with this book.

Something about this novel almost reminds me of a postapocalyptic world, and that in and of itself is something pretty cool, since I’m into that setting. I honestly don’t think that I need to give away too much of the plot, but I can tell you to pick this book up and check it out for yourself! You won’t regret it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

