Day One. It Begins.

1376460_10204428324841994_2049208230580108312_n_zps4fbeaab2

So, my word count at the end of day one is 10,055. I am extremely happy with myself, because I got to exactly where I wanted to get to. I sat a goal of getting to 10k today, so that I would be caught up to Day Six in the NaNo world. I realize from participating in National Novel Writing Month last year that getting as far ahead as possible in week one is probably the most important thing that you can do. That way, when you’re going through the perilous struggle of the dreaded Week Two, you are ahead. The worst thing that you can do is to get behind in your Word Count… it gives you a really hopeless feeling, and makes you want to crawl into a corner and hide. Honestly though, there’s no reason to be discouraged! You can pull yourself out of any hole… hell, I’m proof. I literally wrote about 16,000 words today, between this, work and blog posts! You can, too!!!

So, I decided to get ahead. I got ahead. I feel accomplished… and I celebrate with many Redbulls and Kitkats xD

Honestly though, Day One of NaNo is one of the most exciting. You’re getting your start, you’re carving your path! You’re making your way!

(This post will be shorter. My wrists… they sob.)

For me, I’m in the beginning of chapter two, and I’m ready to really get into the meat of my novel for day two. I’m going to try to pace myself for this next week, and just get daily word count (1667) to 3000 words per day. I think I can do it. I know I can do it!

Winners shirt, here I come!

Tomorrow, I’ll talk more about my Novel plot, and my setup in my Scrienver document!

Until then, keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Comments
  1. Marcus Case says:

    I’m exhausted just thinking about it. Good luck!

  2. I’d have had to lock the door to my writing room in order to even hope to have accomplished 10k…Wow! Congrats.

  3. daphnepurpus says:

    Congratulations!! I’m ahead (6028 words on day 2) but no where near yours! You’re right though that the key to success is getting ahead. Good luck with the rest of the month. 🙂

  4. rachelbohlen says:

    That’s impressive!! Good work!

Leave a Reply

