Blue Moon by Laurell K Hamilton Ponderings

Posted: August 24, 2014 in Book Ponderings, Book Review, Book Thoughts, Books, Laurell K Hamilton
Tags: , , ,

Blue Moon
Blue Moon by Laurell K. Hamilton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Onward with my reviewing of the Laurell K Hamilton series.

Okay, first of all… this is actually one of my least favorite books. It may simply be the fact that it features a LOT of Richard. I don’t like Richard. I don’t like him as a person, I don’t like his personality, his attitudes. (Maybe that was what Hamilton meant – he’s beautifully designed as a very flawed, self-loathing character). So… not really my favorite of the series.

However, the storyline of this is actually pretty entertaining. I am once more faced with the preternatural politics that I actually enjoy – Anita has to travel to another area in order to get Richard out of jail. Of course, doing so raises the brows of the local werewolves as well as the local vampire (who is refusing to allow them entry.) The book features quite a bit of Asher (who I absolutely adore), as well as Nathaniel ❤ I have some love for him because of his character and the development that he has throughout the series.

This book is more sexually charged than some of the others, once more touching on the subject of the muniun (the dead spirits of the wolves who have been eaten by their pack). No spoilers, yet again, but it sets a huge plotline into play.

This book also touches down on the subject of religion, and whether what Anita is doing casts her out of the eye of God. I won’t spoil too much, but it does a really, really good job of it.

There is a bit of tougher content in this story – rape, abuse, etc. I realize that’s been touched on before, but it’s always good to have a warning.

Overall, I do adore what’s happened in this book. There’s more good character development, which culminates in a decision by Anita that will set the stage for the next book. There was more good development of world, of story, of characters. The writing, as usual, is spot on.

I give this book a 3.5 out of 5 star rating, because I’m not fond of Richard. I know, it’s a terrible reason, but still. Still a great read!

 

Until Next Time, Keep Reading and Writing!

Author Amanda McCormick!

Comments
  1. I too am not very fond of Richard, I must say. I agree with everything you say on this book!

Leave a Reply

