Circus of the Damned and The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K Hamilton Ponderings

Posted: August 6, 2014 in Book Ponderings, Book Review, Book Thoughts, Books, Laurell K Hamilton, Uncategorized, Vampires, Werewolves
Tags: , , , ,

Circus of the Damned
Circus of the Damned by Laurell K. Hamilton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Spoilers Ahoy!

Another twist in the Anita Blake series. For me, I feel like the third book is where Laurell K Hamtilton really starts to hit her stride. We have been introduced to the characters enough so that we’re really fond of Anita, of Jean Claude – we know all of the character enough to be emotionally invested in them.

And then we’re introduced to Richard! While I’m not a huge fan of Richard as a character, I’m a fan of the writing of his character. He’s such a goody goody, a prat, annoying… and so well written that I could just eat him up. Honestly, I love the development of Anita’s character in this novel, I love the fact that we get to see that she WOULD turn on Jean-Claude if pressed into a corner… and then just as quickly we see that she’d want to save him. I love that we dive deeper into the vampire world with the introduction of Alejandro and Mr. Oliver. Seeing the vast expanse of vampiric powers is amazing… and, of course, the crime always ties in to the characters and what is going on with them. I honestly find it to be such a wonderful thing, how Hamilton manages to make the novel that we read both a paranormal romance (edging that way, finally!) and a crime novel all in one.

Overall, I’m really pleased with the book – I love that I feel like we’re really progressing, that Hamilton is setting up for some of the big points in the rest of the series… and I love that we’re diving deeper into the world of Anita Blake!

I’d give this book 5 stars, because I really feel like it’s progressing the story a lot!

Until next time, keep reading and writing!

 

The Lunatic Cafe
The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K. Hamilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ah, and now we’re getting into the Lunatic Cafe. I completely and utterly adore this book for a lot of reasons… one of the main things being that we really get to dive into the world of the shapeshifters in this novel. We’re pulled more into Richard’ world since discovering that he was a werewolf at the end of Circus of the Damned – because of this, we get to see the structure of his pack. The characters of Marcus and especially Raina come in to play – Hamilton has an amazing way of setting us up for future story arcs very smoothly as she writes her novels. The entire story revolves around a group of missing shapeshifters, and some shapeshifter attacks as the crime… and then for the preterunatural, there are two storylines.

One, Anita is dating Richard, and Jean-Claude can’t simply allow that to happen. He persuades (see blackmail) Anita into dating him as well. This sets up the love triangle that will be so important in future novels.

Two, we follow Anita as she searches for the missing lycanthropes. I won’t get too into it, since that would spoil the book completely!

Honestly, I adore the way that this novel went, yet again. I think that Hamilton does such a good job, especially in her early books, of incorporating the detective work and the paranormal. Also… Edward.

Edward, Edward, Edward ❤

Yet again, a 5/5 star book for me!

Until next time, Keep Reading and Writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

 

Comments
  1. […] of the Laurell K Hamilton Series (reviews of the books can be found Here (books Five and Six), Here (Books Three and Four), Here (Book Two), and Here (book One). I am actually up to Book Nine in the series, but I’m […]

Leave a Reply

