Stupid USPS

Posted: July 15, 2014 in Uncategorized, USPS
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So I’m having a bit of a heartbreaking moment here. Those of you who know/talk to me know how much I love books… and you also know how much I’ve been wanting my books back from Kentucky since I moved 3 years ago. About a month ago, my sister in law boxed up the ones that meant the most to me and mailed them to me. Today the most man arrived with a ripped, torn box and a note that said, “We care. We’re sorry if this inconveniences your day.”

There was no insurance on the package because the woman at the post office refused to issue it to my sister-in-law on the basis that it was pointless.

Some of those books are literally irreplaceable, out of print… and what’s worse is the fact that a lot of them are extremely sentimental to me. Some are gifts from my mother, who you all know is extremely ill, others from friends and family… it’s just heartbreaking and devastating. Anyone who knows how it feels to lose valued and sentimental possessions understands. I just wanted to share this with you guys, because you’ve always been so supportive – I feel like I get a lot of the positive thoughts and support from this community. A lot of you are so amazing and compassionate and caring ❤ I really appreciate you all. I feel like such a ninny for crying over books… but… yeah. Anyone who writes, reads, or has a special possession would understand.

For those of you who have already asked if you can help… I do have an amazon wish list that I can send you, as well as my paypal (deathsrequiem07@yahoo.com) listed on my page. I’m gonna basically take today and mope around and cry some more and then try to get back to schedule tomorrow. My sister-in-law (who is crying as much as I am) made a go-fund-me. I’m just kind of…. at a loss and miserable over this. 

Again, with everything that’s been going on (the move, my mother, and now this)… thank you so much for how much you guys have been here for me. You have no idea what it means to me.

Honestly though, I post this as a precautionary tale. If the post office tells you not to worry about insurance? Don’t listen. If they tell you that your box will be just fine and you don’t need to buy a new one/split it into multiple boxes? Don’t listen. v.v Be careful with your precious things. 

Comments
  1. […] spoke was extremely touching. I’ve honestly been in a bit of a funk for writing since I lost all of my books a few days ago. Anyone who loves books can understand that… however, getting this gift from […]

Leave a Reply

