Image\

Oh, the accuracy of that one photograph. Heh. Of course, the NaNoWriMo that I speak of is the July Camp NaNoWriMo! For those of you who don’t know what NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is… it’s an amazing program that reaches out to people from all over the world; we, as writers, come together in a glorious group to write 50,000 words in a month. The main event happens in November. However, along the way, there are ‘camps’. These are smaller events that allow you to still keep up the spirit of NaNoWriMo. One of the most amazing things about NaNo is being able to write with your friends. The ability to make great friends, to have companionship and encouragement during your writing process is amazing. I know I’ve made quite a few amazing friends during my NaNo journey – I encourage anyone who hasn’t tried it to give it a shot. Check out camp to see if NaNoWriMo is for you… and if so… sign up in November and truly brace yourself.

For my July Camp, I’m planning on doing a 20,000 word story about a Grim Reaper trapped in a human’s body a la Frankenstein. It’s an idea that was suggested to me, and something I’ve decided to toy around with. More than that, however, it’s something that I think I can accomplish in the lower word count that I set for myself. (The reasoning behind the 20k word count would be the personal issues that I have going on, as well as the fact that we’re moving at the end of this month and into July.) In NaNoWriMo of 2013, I completed a 100k word novel… so I think that I should be able to handle the 20,000, yeah? Honestly though… more than getting the word count down, more than finishing the story… I’m just excited about the prospect of making some new friends, and having some new adventures along the way!

So, give me a shout if you’ll be joining in for camp. Maybe… just maybe… if I get brave enough (getting tired of hearing it yet?) I’ll make a vlog for NaNo Camp. Who knows.

Well, this is me signing out. xD Sorry for the random influx of blogging. I’ve been in a writing mood tonight!

 

Keep reading and writing!

Author Amanda McCormick

Comments
  1. WE NEED TO VLOG IT OUT!!!!

  2. InnanaMiss says:

    That sounds like a cool story. I can’t help but think ‘Dead Like Me’ when I think grim reapers. (Am I dating myself by saying that?? :/ ) But that’s not really frankenstein-y.

    Still don’t know what I’m doing. I always do NaNo rebel-style, so I’ll probably work on an already-in-progress project? Don’t know. Should probably get thinking about that….

    • I’ve done rebel style before. I know with Camp, it’s nice because you don’t have to have a 50k word goal… I can’t wait to see what you do, though :3 I love seeing what other people are creative enough to come up with!!!

  3. I’m joining. This shall be fun and crazy.

Leave a Reply

